Juan N. Quintanilla Alvarez

Pinar del Rio, Cuba, 1950

Education and Professional Experience

He is a graduate of the School of Visual Arts of Pinar  del Río in the specialty of sculpture, 1965;  National School of Art, 1967 and the Higher Academy of Visual Arts of Prague, Czechoslovakia, 1973. He took courses at the Pietro Tacca Higher Institute of Marble of Carrara, Italy, in 1979, and obtained a master degree in stone and marble sculpture from the Higher Academy of Visual Arts of Prague, Czechoslovakia, in 1989.

Personal Exhibitions

He has more than twenty works in public spaces of several countries: Cuba, Spain, the United States, the Dominican Republic, England, Denmark and Slovenia.
Monument to Major General Antonio Maceo y Grajales. Bronze. Inter-Arms School of the Revolutionary Armed Forces, Cuba; monument to Carlos J. Finlay, Carlos J. Finlay Research Institute, Havana, Cuba; monument to José Martí. Marble. Montecristi. Dominican Republic; bust of Che Guevara. Bronze. Museum of Famous Men, Texas, USA; sculpture dedicated to Diana of Wales. Marble. Lonja del Comercio, Havana, Cuba; replica of the sculpture to Diana of Wales. Diana of Wales Foundation, London, England; Coral Sun. Red marble. National Museum of Fine Arts, Havana, Cuba; Talaiot. White marble from Carrara. Museum of Modern Art, Palma de Mallorca, Spain; Sun. Palm tree. Stone. Forma Viva Collection, Portoroz, Slovenia; altar and baptismal fountains. Marble. Paula Church, Havana, Cuba; monumental sculpture dedicated to the NGO of Multiple Sclerosis, Carrara marble. Palma de Mallorca Art Center, Spain; two sculptures. White Macael marble, for the enterprise Profasan, Malaga, Spain.

Awards and Residencies

Among his most important prizes are: First Prize in the contest for the monument to General Antonio Maceo (statue made in bronze), 1983; First Prize in the contest for the monument to Lázaro Peña, 1989.

Exhibitions in Villa Manuela

Standing Firmly

Collective September 2007

Artworks (2)

Coral Sun

Juan N. Quintanilla Alvarez 2006


Juan N. Quintanilla Alvarez 2003